Getting to the Heart of your Desires

What's in your heart?

It seems what is on my heart is how I have so much expectation in my time with the Lord.  I’ve made it this name “time with the Lord” that sure makes it inticing, but what does that really mean?  For I can read my bible and it not be time with the Lord.  I can write a whole bunch… I can sit in silence…  but where does the Lord come in?  The Lord does not want me to have my time with him anxiously expecting to receive a word quickly from him so I can move on with my day and check off my Jesus time box on my schedule.  It is a time to be filled.  It is a time to search the heart and see what its burdens are.  The Bible is good, but I am finding that it can more and more get in the way of actually wrestling through the condition of my heart.  I look to the Bible for correction and wisdom into God’s character…  but what of actually being filled with his Holy Spirit?  Am I really taking my time out to enjoy him and his characteristics that I have learned from the Bible?  Am I actually experiencing my relationship with God?  I don’t know about the rest of the world, but I know that I actually don’t connect best with people through studying them.  I connect best through experiencing life with them.  When we do together, then we have things to talk about.  If all I do is go to the person in hopes of fulfilling my duty, I have lost the big idea.  The big idea in the theme of the Bible…  God wants my heart.  He doesn’t want we to be some great leader, he doesn’t want me to be the best dad above all else, he doesn’t even want me to be the best Christian, but what he is deeply concerned about is what my heart desires.  Does my heart desire money?  God wants that desire…  Does my heart desire a spouse?  God wants that desire…  Does my heart hate?  God wants to heal that and redeem those energies given to hate to turn to energies used in love of himself and his people.

Big question Jon.  What does your heart desire right now?  Honestly…  What desires are not as they should be…  Let me explain why they shouldn’t be there… let me explain why they cause you anxiety…  Let me take your burdens that your desire may be for me and love of the kingdom.  I’ll take care of the rest.  Just ask me and it will be given.

So I pass on the question to you…  What does your heart desire?  What is the deepest desire of your heart?  If you could be given anything in your life right now?  Because if it is not God, he is jealous.  God wants that and will fight ferociously for it…  He has killed millions that his people may give their hearts to him.  He has even given up his own son, that you may know how great his love is…  But really examine yourself.  Let the Lord’s love take over any other desire that your heart may have for it is peanuts in comparison to his great love.  Something so great, yet so overlooked by our hearts is the fact that the God of the universe is willing to care for you…all of it…if you but turn your heart to him and walk with him in pursing his kingdom.

One response to “Getting to the Heart of your Desires

  1. thxs Jon needed to here this. Thxs for listening to God and sharing with us! We try so hard to earn Gods love for us. We can not, it is a gift for us to enjoy and live in victory because He paid a price for us once and for all. Love u and miss u . Mom

Leave a comment