Thailand on the Horizon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Life has been continuing on here at Columbia Bible College.  I have been finishing up my fourth (or sixth depending on how to count it) year and looking to the next stage of life.  I hope to have a season of working, doing music, and being involved in the local church.

As I’m coming to the end of my time I have been encouraged by my own passion, my peace in prayers, and by some of the leaders here at CBC to go on the schools missions trip to Thailand at the end of the year.  I’m not sure what the Lord would have of me on this trip, but through prayer and community support I hope to follow up on this call.  One of my professors decided randomly that he wanted to meet with me and encourage me. I don’t know him all that well, but one thing he sensed as he was praying for me the weeks before was that the Lord desired me to go on one last cross-cultural mission experience before I begin my ministry here in the Lower Mainland.  Little did he know that I had just been asked by one of the leaders of the trip to come and help him with the trip to Thailand the day before.  Now it may sound like they had some kinda secret plan to get Jon on mission with their CBC team, but it is not.  The professor didn’t even know of the the trip to Thailand.  haha! Through prayer and the sense of peace that has been given I have continued to follow up and began taking the steps to going.

The Lord has provided my deposit already!  I have no money but am looking forward to seeing how God will bring it.  If he wants me there he will provide!  I am continuing to pray and rally up some people for the financial and spiritual support for going.

It will be a short-term mission for 3 weeks to Chonburi (I think that is how it is spelled) to support MB missions full time missionaries that have been there for over a decade.  They have been planting a church, running break dancing programs, and running english teaching schools the past years and we get the privilege of coming alongside them at the hottest time of the year to help out (apparently Thailand heat is unbearable).

The cost of the trip with flight included is around 2600 dollars.  We hope to fund raise some of that cost as a team together, but some of it (around 1200-1500) will be personal fund raising as well.  Let me know if you sense the Lord’s nudge to give finances or prayer support.  I have an account with MB Mission that can be given to online, through phone, or through mail-in and you will be given a tax receipt.  Send me and e-mail and we can figure out the best way or if you want more information or I can even show up to your house; I’d love that! Contact me at: jon@familyharris.ca

Blessings!

Jon Harris

 

 

Leave a comment