Home Again!

Hey All,

The Team!

I have made it home!  I realizes I did not update this during my stay in Thailand, but that was mainly due to how much we did there and the lack of being in places with internet.  As you could see from the last update we were on the go constantly.

Highlights:

*Meeting Pong:  Pong is a man who is currently in charge of evangelistic  ministries in Northern Thailand.  He took two hours out of his day to tell his life story which involved being a General in the Army, being in the CIA, in Prison for 5 years, solitary confinement for 2 and half, being clinically dead for a day and half receiving visions from the Lord and coming back to life, losing his family, his job, his house, and the Lord reconstructing his life to be fruitful for his Kingdom. He still spends many nights in prison for spreading the good news and preaches to the inmates.  I praise God to see him working in big ways through Pong.

*Meeting Orphan Kids:  We spend some days taking the orphan kids (aged 8 – 17 approx.) out to the beach, eating pizza, and playing sports.  It was amazing to be part of the orphan ministry.  It is an orphanage unlike any other in thailand.  The houses are nicer than many in North America and it is around 6 kids to a mom in each separate house.  The Kids are a joy to be around and have a passion in loving God and loving others.  There is a sense of loving community that, in all my travels, I have found very few places.

Going to the Buddhist temple in Bankok

*English Camp:  We put on an english camp with about 30 kids in attendance.  It was loads of fun and the kids were able to learn much about us, God, and the english language.  My station was to teach the kids a worship song called Sing, sing, sing.  I sung it 17 times that day.  I hope to not to see it for a long time 🙂 …

One of the missionary’s kids named Chase.

Overall the trip was an amazing way to get connected to what God has been doing in thailand.  We connected with many missionaries, local ministries, and Thai people.  Thank-you to all who supported me on this trip.  It was a great way to finish off my BA in intercultural studies.  I now will be working for the next two months before I head off to Guatemala with the South Delta Baptist Church team.  I’ll keep you posted on the details.

Blessings!

Leave a comment